The Month of Online Learning

This month has flown by so quickly.

I was fortunate enough to have a nice long vacation out of the country over the Christmas break and it was a bit of a shock getting back to work when the term started. I jumped right into teaching, writing papers and preparing presentations. I also had a wonderful surprise waiting for me when I presented my potential research topic and came up with a clear road map of where to go next from the lovely feedback I received. Today I found out that an abstract I submitted has been accepted. It has been a busy month but it has been good.

This term I am teaching an online course, taking a seminar course that meets every two weeks and also participating in a “distributed learning” course, which is a totally new experience for me. We met for the first time last week and I really enjoyed it. The blend of online and in-class is excellent and I doubt I would appreciate the instructor as much if I had not met him in person. He is very knowledgeable and very funny. This will likely be my last term of coursework, so I hope to enjoy it as much as possible.

It is difficult to believe that we are already nearly one-third of the way through the term! And that means my thesis proposal deadline is looming just around the corner…

Leave a Reply

